Turks & Caicos

The Turks and Caicos Islands are a group of over 40 islands and cays located at the southern end of the Bahamian archipelago in the North Atlantic Ocean. The islands sit on top of two large sedimentary plateaus; the Caicos Banks and the Turks Bank. These are made up of marine deposited calcium carbonate turned limestone and separated by the deep Columbus passage. The collection of beautiful islands lie near to the edge of these Banks, mostly separated from the deep water by a shallow barrier reef and protected lagoon. The Turks Islands are smaller, less numerous and drier than the Caicos Islands. The Caicos Bank itself is over 600 square miles in size.

The Turks and Caicos Islands are a British Overseas Territory with a governor appointed by the crown to oversee the legislative council. The house of representatives is elected in 11 separate constituencies. There are two major political forces, the PDM (People’s Democratic Movement) and the PNP (Progressive National Party). The leader of the party which wins the most seats serves as Premier. The party leaders also contest a seat in the House of Representatives. Elections are held every four years and the voter turnout is near to 100%.

  • The official language in the Turks and Caicos Islands is English.
  • The official currency is the US dollar.
  • Voltage is 120V using North American style electrical plugs.
  • Taxis are not metered but most have standard fares for set routes and are priced per person.
  • Crime is low but it is best to use your common sense and not to leave valuables in your vehicle unattended or your verandah doors unlocked at night.
  • It is customary to wear shirts and shoes in public places but otherwise attire is informal.